My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Favorite Books in January

on February 4, 2014

I read a lot of books in January, 29 of them, which makes me 11 books ahead in my reading goal for the year.  To see all the books I read in January click here.

Here are my favorite books that I read this month.

Cooking for Mr. Right–Susan Volland
This is another fun, romantic comedy, and it had some food writing mixed in, which I always enjoy.  This is about a girl whose boyfriend proposed to her, she said no, and they broke up.  But when he is suddenly engaged to another woman she realizes that she has made the biggest mistake of her life.  The new fiancé can’t cook and the main character is a chef, so she decides to win her man back through his stomach, and things do not go quite as planned.  This book was just plain fun to read.  I highly recommend it.

Here’s the Deal: Don’t Touch Me–Howie Mandel
This book was very funny.  It is an autobiography of Howie Mandel and his struggle with OCD and germaphobia.  I really enjoyed reading about Mandel’s life and his ups and downs with OCD and how it impacted his life and his career.  A very enjoyable read.

Night Film–Marisha Pessl
I guess you would consider this book a thriller.  It was suspenseful, scary, and had me on the edge of my seat.  The story is very well written and the twists and turns really took me by surprise.  A private investigator is nosing around the death of a famous horror film director.  People keep dying around him, shrouded in strange circumstances.  This book was great, and I really enjoyed Pessl’s story telling.

Wedding Night–Sophie Kinsella
This is a romantic comedy about a girl who thought her boyfriend was going to propose, but instead he asks her to go on a trip with him.  They realize that they are not wanting the same things in the relationship, so they break up.  The girl is reunited with a high school sweetheart.  They have dinner, and he proposes to her, saying that she was the best thing that ever happened to him.  They proceed to plan their wedding and their wedding night.  Their friends and family do their best to put a damper on the whole event.  This book is a very funny, well written romantic comedy and I really enjoyed it.

 

 

 

2 responses to “Favorite Books in January

  1. V says:

    I love Sophie Kinsella. Have you ever read Twenties Girl by her? If not, I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

