My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

The Coen Brothers

on January 27, 2014

I have come to the conclusion that the Coen Brothers are my favorite writers/directors.  I am always blown away by their films.  I really enjoy them.  I watched one this weekend called The Big Lebowski.  I really enjoyed it.  I have seen several of their movies and this weekend I decided that I’d like to try and watch them all–just add that to the list.  I was surprised when I looked up their filmography that I have already seen quite a few of these.  They direct almost all of the movies that they have written, but there were 5 that they have just written that I have also added to my list.  Here are the movies that they have made.  I have bolded the ones that I have already seen.  I have also requested a couple of books on them from the library because I want to learn more about this awesome duo.

Wrote the Screenplay
1985  Crimewave
1994 The Hudsucker Proxy
1998  The Naked Man
2012  Gambit
2014  Unbroken

Wrote the Screenplay and Directed the Film
1984  Blood Simple
1987  Raising Arizona
1990  Miller’s Crossing
1991   Barton Fink
1996 Fargo
1998 The Big Lebowski
2000  O’Brother Where Art Thou?
2001  The Man Who Wasn’t There
2003 Intolerable Cruelty
2004  The Ladykillers
2007 No Country for Old Men
2008  Burn After Reading
2009  A Serious Man
2010  True Grit
2013   Inside Llewyn Davis

I’m pretty excited about this list.
Do you have any favorites on this list?
Which one should I start with?

3 responses to “The Coen Brothers

  1. Amanda E says:

    I have seen none of these.

  2. Phyllis Eversole says:

    We thought “Raising Arizona” was terrible…really strange and I think we gave up half way through it back in the ’80’s.  I have wanted to see “O Brother Where Art Thou”. 

    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

