My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Movie Reviews

on January 10, 2014

I’ve watched a few more movies off my list that I haven’t gotten a chance to review for you until today.  There is a wide variety of movies that I have watched.  Hopefully you’ll find something that interests you.

American Psycho  American Psycho  (2000 R)
This movie is on a lot of lists as being a very well done, very good movie.  Because of this I was expecting a lot and was excited to watch this movie.  I was, unfortunately, rather disappointed.  This movie has a very interesting way of telling the story and the story itself is intriguing, yet disturbing.  Christian Bale does a very good job of portraying this character and making you really believe it is a real person.  But the movie just didn’t live up to my expectations.  ***

Bonnie and Clyde (1967 NR)Bonnie and Clyde
I had heard good things about this movie and I was not disappointed.  This was a very well made, well acted movie.  I enjoyed the story and the action in this movie.  I highly recommend it.  ****

Charlie's AngelsCharlie’s Angels (2000 PG13)
This movie came out when I was ten.  And when it came out, I think all of my friends saw it, except me.  They were all doing Charlie’s Angels poses in pictures and sneaking around the playground karate chopping people.  I had seen bits and pieces of the movie in my life but never the whole thing, and I decided it was time to see what all the fuss was about.  Well, the fuss was not about much.  I think I had very high expectations for this movie, since I had heard about it so much growing up, but I have concluded that I really wasn’t missing out on much.  **


Dr. Strangelove (1964 PG)
Dr Strangelove
If I would describe this movie to someone, I would probably describe it as just plain weird.  I’m not even really sure how to summarize the plot for you.  This is one of those movies that you just kind of sit there watching it for a while and then it starts to get funny.  Since I had no expectations for this movie it ended up being pretty good.  But I am not sure that it is one that I would end up ever watching again.  ***

Kate and LeopoldKate and Leopold (2001  PG13)
I love Meg Ryan, and I love Hugh Jackman, so how had I never seen this movie before?  This movie was simply a really cute love story.  I really enjoyed it.  ****

Saturday Night Fever (1977 R)Saturday Night Fever
Okay, can someone please explain to me what the big fuss about this movie is.  I watched it and I did not like it at all.  I almost turned it off, but decided that it must have a really great ending.  The movie was alright, but I just did not enjoy watching it.  The only thing I enjoyed was the soundtrack.  **

The American PresidentThe American President (1995 PG13)
I really enjoyed this movie about the president falling in love.  It was a very well done movie and I enjoyed the acting and the storytelling immensely.  And let me just say that I really enjoyed Michael J Fox in this movie.  I thought he did a very good job.  This was just a good romantic movie.  *****

The Ladykillers (1955 NR)The Ladykillers
This movie was so much fun to watch.  I really enjoyed it.  This movie is about a group of bank robbers who are hiding out at an old ladies’ house and she gets too nosy for them, so they decide to kill her.  But killing this little old lady proves to be a difficult (hilarious) challenge.  This is a very good black comedy.  And I read somewhere that it is known as one of Alec Guinness’ best performances.  And for those of you who don’t know, that’s the original Obi-Wan Kenobi.  I really enjoyed it.  *****

 

Leave a Reply

