My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

TGBTL #3–My Go To Meal

on December 18, 2013

I’m linking up again this week with Lauren and Hayley and The Girl Between the Lines.  This week’s prompt is “My Go to Meal.”

One of my projects that I did this year was make an index card for every meal that I make and want to try.  I then made up two separate binders to hold these cards in, our favorites, and other recipes.  This has saved me so much time when menu planning and made it so much easier, which is a great thing for me because I hate menu planning.

Some of the recipes in the favorites binder that we have most frequently are: Cheeseburger Soup, Chicken Tortilla Soup, and Chicken Cheese Croissants.  These are some of the meals that we really enjoy and are pretty easy to make.  But I can honestly say, and Adam would tell you this as well, that my go-to meal is Pancakes.  (I’m a big breakfast for dinner kind of person).

If I mess up on the meal planning and need another meal=Pancakes.  If I can’t find another meal to make=Pancakes.  If we just aren’t feeling the meal planned for that night=Pancakes (or pizza).

Reasons why Pancakes is my Go-To Meal:
pancakes-It’s cheap
-It’s easy
-I already have all the ingredients in my house
-They are customizeable
-You can never eat too many pancakes (at least I can’t)
-They’re just plain delicious!

In general, we probably have pancakes once a week, because they are a quick, easy solution to menu planning.

So here is my super easy pancake recipe:

1 cup flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon sugar
1 egg
1/4 cup of milk, plus more to get desire consistency
2 Tablespoons oil

**Secret ingredients–a little bit of vanilla and cinnamon

Mix together dry ingredients and wet ingredients separately and then combine.
Heat a skillet to medium heat, pour batter on the skillet, flip when there are lots of bubbles on your pancake.
Eat as they are ready, or heat the oven to 250 degrees and keep pancakes warm to eat together.

Mmmm this makes me want to have pancakes for dinner!

 

3 responses to “TGBTL #3–My Go To Meal

  1. Haylee says:

    I LOVE pancakes, but I’ve never made them homemade. I’ll have to give this recipe a try. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    I’m stopping by from TGBTL link-up!

    -Haylee

  2. I make pancakes alllll the time when I can’t think of something to cook! It’s so easy to whip up some eggs or toast to go along with them, too! 🙂 Thanks for linking up!

  3. I like the special cinnamon ingredient idea!!! I’m so doing that next time!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

