My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Where Have I Been?

on December 10, 2013

I have been sick since Thursday with strep and a sinus infection.  It has really wiped me out.  I missed 3 days of work and I am still not feeling back to normal.  Hopefully I will soon.

All of our gifts are wrapped, our Christmas cards are done, and I have been feeling pretty accomplished.  And I have watched several movies in the last week, some better than others.  Here are the reviews for the ones that I watched and crossed of my list.

Ghost  Ghost (PG13 1990)
This is one of those movies that left me wondering, why have I never seen this movie before?!  Parents-why?  I loved this movie.  I was blown away with how much I enjoyed it.  This movie stars Patrick Swayze, Demi Moore, and Whoopi Goldberg.  Whoopi Goldberg was fabulous.  She won an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress in this role and I would say she definitely deserved it.  Don’t be like me.  If you haven’t seen this movie, go out there and get it from somewhere and watch it!  *****Selling God

Selling God-Documentary (NR  2009)
This movie was not at all what I was expecting it to be and it downright infuriated me.  I am going to write a more detailed review about this movie later, as long as I can find my notes.  I thought the movie would be about how Christianity has become commercialized.  But no, this movie was about how some of the key points of Christianity are marketing ploys to get people to join the religion.  I want to give this movie no stars because of how much I hated how they treated the topic, but it was a well made movie so I should probably give it two stars.  But I’m not happy about it, so I’m only giving it one.  *

The Reader  The Reader (R 2008)
I almost stopped this movie 15 minutes into it, but I pressed on and I am glad that I did.  It turned out to be a very beautiful and moving story.  The story starts off with a 15 year old boy and his affair with a 30 year old woman, which is why I would have stopped the movie, but then things change and the story takes a different direction.  I recommend this movie with reservations.  I really did end up loving this story and it was told beautifully.  However, some of the content is hard to get past.  But it was a beautiful movie and I am glad that I made it to the end.  ****Calamity Jane

Calamity Jane (G 1953)
This movie was just plain fun.  It is about a rough around the edges woman named Calamity Jane, who is very closely compared to Annie Oakley.  This is a musical following Calamity, her journey to get an actress from Chicago to come to her little town, and how later she wishes she hadn’t.  It is an entertaining love story and has fun music.  I could listen to Doris Day sing all day long.  ****

Get Shorty  Get Shorty  (R 1995) This movie was not what I had expected going into it, but it ended up being rather entertaining.  However, it is a movie that I will probably never watch again.  It was alright, but it wasn’t spectacular.  ***

Blue Steel  (R 1989)Blue Steel
This movie stars Jamie Lee Curtis as a rookie cop in New York.  Wait, did you read that right?  Jamie Lee Curtis as a cop?  Yes you did, and I think she does a great job.  I am a big Jamie Lee Curtis fan, and this movie did not disappoint me.  This is an intense thriller that follows Megan Turner on her first few days as a New York City cop.  She ends up getting into some very uncomfortable situations.  This is a very intense movie, but all in all I enjoyed it.  ****

I hope that you are not getting tired of all of these movie reviews.  I really do enjoy watching all kinds of different movies and my hope is that I pique your interest and you find a movie that you enjoy watching.

Leave a Reply

