My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Weekend Movie Reviews

on November 25, 2013

I watched 6 movies this weekend, and three of them are not on my new list, but I decided to review them for you anyway.

paranormal activityParanormal Activity (2007 R)
I had been looking forward to seeing this movie.  I love watching scary movies and to be scared.  And this movie delivered that.  This movie was very suspenseful and so scary!  I enjoyed the movie and give it top marks but I don’t think that I’ll ever be watching it again.  *****

This Film Not Yet Rated (2006 NR)
this film not yet rated
I thought that this was going to be a really interesting look at the MPAA rating system, which is what the movie was advertised as, but what it turned out to be was a documentary on how a bunch of NC-17 movies should really by R and that the rating system is unfair when it comes to the difference between two ratings.  It was an interesting movie but not really what I had been expecting.  And I probably would not be comfortable recommending it based on some of the content in the movie that if I had known about would probably have kept me from watching it. ***

pocahontas 2Pocahontas 2: Journey to a New Word (1998 G)
It just seemed like a good movie to watch after work Friday night, especially after watching the two movies above.  I definitely needed this happy musical.  And this is one of those sequels that actually is pretty good and not stupid. ****

The Hunger Games (2012 PG13)hunger games
I know quite a few people who think that this movie was really bad, but I actually enjoy it.  I watched it again this weekend to get ready to see the sequel in theaters.  I really enjoy this movie.  Yes, it could have been better, but I still think it tells the story pretty well.  ****

catching fireCatching Fire (2013 PG13)
Catching Fire was amazing!  I thought it was so good.  It was my favorite book and I think they portrayed it very well in the movie.  The scenes looked exactly like what I had pictured while I was reading.  I have been dragging Adam to these movies and he was one of those people that really hated the first movie, but he actually liked the second one.  And for him, that is saying a lot.  *****

The Blair Witch Project (1999 R)blair witch project
Let’s see, this movie came out in 1999, which would have made me 9, which I think means I would have been in third grade.  And I can remember that a bunch of my friends in my class had seen this movie.  They talked about it all the time and pretended they were being killed by the blair witch at recess and drawing symbols all over the playground.  And I remember being like, “What the heck are they talking about?”  It just sounded stupid to me.  Well, here I am, 14 years behind the times, and I have just watched this movie.  And I have two thoughts:  1-yep it’s pretty stupid, in my opinion and 2-what parents let their 9 year old child see this R-rated movie?  The movie was okay, but I found myself disappointed in it and not scared at all.  **

Did you watch anything good this weekend?

Leave a Reply

