My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

we could be stranded

on October 24, 2013

hitchhikingYesterday I took the car to a wonderful mechanic–Ponder’s Auto in Johnson City.  If you ever need your car looked at or work done on it, I highly recommend them.  They are very nice, kind, professional, and the tell you the truth, even if it is hard to hear, like it was for me yesterday.

We had a turn signal out and our back windows would not stay up, so our backseat kept getting rained on.  So I took the car in and asked them to fix those two things but to also look over the car and see if there are any safety concerns or things I needed to be aware of.  Our car is pretty old and we knew it was probably running out of steam.  It is a 2000 Buick Regal with over 230,000 miles on it.  We knew it could start getting bad, but we were not ready for the bad news.

We have a radiator leak, which means the radiator needs to be replaced and the thermostat.  Our power steering needs to be replaced, and we have a bad oxygen sensor that needs to be replaced.  All of those repairs are about $1000.  And we also need 4 new tires, which is another 4-500 dollars.  The blue book value of our car is $1500.  So if we made all those necessary changes we would be paying the value of the car.  So we knew then that we would probably have to look at selling it.

When I picked up the car I asked the question I really didn’t want the answer to.  How important/necessary are these changes, and in what timeframe.  Basically, if we are going to keep this car for even 3 months the radiator needs to be replaced.  And when I asked about driving it for Christmas traveling they told me that it wouldn’t be safe to even drive it to Kentucky.

Now, we are in a hard place.  We need to sell our car and buy something new.  We have not been bad with money but we haven’t been able to put aside very much for a car.  So needless to say, after that news, my evening was full of stress.  I was thinking of everything I could possibly sell, and every scenario I could think of.  So please pray for us as we try to sell this car and figure out what to do.  It is a stressful time, but I am trying to remind myself every minute that God will take care of us and he will provide.  So keep me in mind if you know of someone selling a good car, relatively cheap, because we could sure use it.

Leave a Reply

