My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Wild Weekend

on October 15, 2013

Friday
I was looking forward to a peaceful evening of work at the Thompson Center, and that’s what I got.  There was an event happening, so I did some helping with that, but otherwise it was a nice, quiet evening.  I balanced the checkbook and watched some Downton Abbey and some Pretty Little Liars.  I convinced my parents to watch the Harry Potter movies because I really thought they would enjoy them.  My mother agreed to watch them, only if I would watch Downton Abbey.  I didn’t think I would like it, but after one episode I was hooked.  I only have half an episode left until I’m done with the first season.  After work, I went home, watched the new episode of What Not to Wear (I can’t believe that this Friday is the last episode ever!!) and then Adam, Tommy, Amanda and I went to Applebees to redeem an after midnight coupon and get a late night snack.  Yum!

Saturday
Saturday morning I slept in, until 8:30, and started watching a movie from my list, Quiz Show.  It is about a quiz show scandal.  Contestants were getting the answers to the questions ahead of time so the station could keep the ratings up.  This movie was directed by Robert Redford, whom I love, and has some very talented actors in it.  Then, I got ready and went to lunch with some ladies from my church.  It was a fun time 🙂  After lunch, I came home and finished my movie.  Then Adam and I went to the library and each came home with stacks of books.  His for a paper, and mine for fun.  (I decided to increase my goal to 200, so now I’ve got to get a move on).  Amanda came over for pizza, because we fed her over fall break, and then Adam went to a bible study while I watched Downton Abbey.  When Adam got home we watched Shutter Island, and it was amazing!  We definitely did not see the end coming.  It was great.  And then we went to bed.

Sunday
In the morning, we went to church, got lunch at Cookout, and then went home and took a nap.  Then Amanda and I went and got some pumpkins to carve.  It’s kind of a tradition for us now.  We had a lot of fun!  Then we went to night church, and hung out the rest of the evening and watched Halloween Wars, our favorite October show!
IMG_2027

Amanda found dirt on her pumpkin

Amanda found dirt on her pumpkin

IMG_2032 IMG_2038 IMG_2041 IMG_2042 IMG_2055 IMG_2058

Yuck!

Yuck!

IMG_2069 IMG_2071

What my pumpkin was supposed to look like.

What my pumpkin was supposed to look like.

Amanda's pumpkin to promote her recital

Amanda’s pumpkin to promote her recital

How my pumpkin turned out:  I had big chunks come off so it turned out pretty bad.

How my pumpkin turned out: I had big chunks come off so it turned out pretty bad.

As you can see, it was a pretty great weekend!

Leave a Reply

