My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

The first four

on October 9, 2013

As of yesterday I have marked four movies off my list: Bridget Jones’s Diary, Fargo, Memento, and Taxi Driver.


I have been ranking each movie with stars as I watch them, five stars being the best.  There were two movies that earned 4 stars, one that earned 5, and an !, and one that earned two stars.  Can you guess which movie earned what ranking?

Bridget Jones’s Diary (2001-R)
This movie, starring Renee Zellweger, Colin Firth, and Hugh Grant, is about a woman, Bridget, who at the beginning of the New Year realizes that she is unhappy with her age, her weight, her job, and the fact that she is man-less.  She decides to start a diary and to get herself into shape.  This is a very funny comedy about her love life and other adventures.  This film was very funny and I really enjoyed it.

Fargo (1996-R)
I really had no idea what this movie was about when I started to watch it.  It is written and directed by the now famous Coen brothers and it definitely did not disappoint me.  This movie, starring Frances McDormand, William H Macy, Steve Buscemi, and Peter Stormare, follows a man (Macy) strapped for cash who decides to hire some men (Buscemi and stormare) to kidnap his wife so they can share the ransom money.  Everything goes wrong and a local police chief (McDormand) starts investigating.   McDormand is amazing in her role as Marge Gunderson, her acting in this role landed her the Oscar for Best Actress.  I greatly enjoyed this movie.  McDormand was great to watch and the on-screen drama was captivating.

Memento (2000-R)
Memento follows the story of a man with no short term memory (Guy Pearce), which is a little difficult since he is trying to find and kill his wife’s murderer.  He gets by with a system that he follows religiously.  He receives help from Teddy (Joe Pantoliano) and Natalie (Carrie-Anne Moss).  This film, written and directed by Christopher Nolan was amazing.  I was fascinated with his way of storytelling and by the story in general.  This story made me think and gripped me throughout.  This movie really surprised me.  I was not disappointed by this pick.

Taxi Driver (1976-R)
This film is one that is on a lot of lists for being an outstanding film.  It is about a taxi driver (Robert DeNiro) who is mentally unstable and is very disturbed by all the scum and sleaze in New York City.  He decides that he is going to take matters in his own hands, by means of violence.  He decides to save a young prostitute (Jodie Foster) from her life on the streets.  For everything that I had heard about this movie, I found myself very underwhelmed and honestly bored.

Here are my rankings for these films:
Bridget Jones’s Diary  ****
Fargo ****
Memento *****!
Taxi Driver **

 

Leave a Reply

