My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Well, it’s finally happened

on September 27, 2013

I didn’t think that it could ever happen to me, but this week it has.  I have reached my limit.  I have read way too much.  I need to sit in front of a TV or in front of Netflix for a while and veg because I have reached my reading limit for the week, something which has never happened before.  I don’t want to see another book this weekend.
too-much-readingI know, I have no one to blame but myself.  I am the one who just kept reading.  And now I’ve just read too much.  Since Sunday I have read 5 books for a total of 2232 pages.  I enjoyed all of them, and now I am 170 pages into another book.  But I think I’ll have to put it down for the weekend.  I’m booked out.

So far this year I have read 139 books.  My original goal for the year had been to read 100, then I increased it to 150.  I might have to increase it again before the year is up.  So far this year I have read 46,304 pages.  I don’t even want to know how many words that is.

Okay, now I want to know.  Google search: Average number of words on a page of a fiction book: answer: 50,000 words=a 175 page novel.  Do a little math….

I have read 667,500 words this week.
I have read 13,229,500 words so far this year.

Yikes, now my head really hurts.

I know declare this a book free weekend.  Phew.

One response to “Well, it’s finally happened

  1. Ron Eversole says:

    You can do a lot worse things than read! Trust me – I’m one who wastes a lot of time with things less worthwhile than reading.

Leave a Reply

