My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Move In Day

on August 17, 2013

Today is move in day for new students at Milligan College.  And while I am not moving in today I did work in the Financial Aid Office this morning to answer any questions.  And I got to thinking about my past move in days.

move in 2008On move in day (2008) at Anderson, I did not know anyone.  I was so nervous.  I only barely knew my roommate, Lyndsay.  We had met once before moving in.  Since I didn’t know anyone I had a great experience meeting everyone and making new friends.  The first week of school we had dorm Olympics and theme nights.  It was a really fun and great way to get to know everyone.  I had a great freshman year at Anderson and made a lot of great friends.
move in 2009 This is a picture from move in day 2009 to Milligan College.  This was a different kind of move in day.  I knew Adam, we had been dating for 4 months at this point, but I did not know anyone else.  Again, I had barely talked to my roommate before moving in, but I had Adam.  The move in experience was different this year because I was coming in as a transfer so I didn’t feel like I fit with everyone else because I wasn’t a freshman.  I still went to all the new student activities, but I didn’t end up becoming friends with that group until much later.  Most of my friends ended up being Adams friends.  It was a really good, but really different experience.  I was still nervous, but even knowing one person was a big help.
move in 2010I don’t have any pictures from move in 2010, but here is one gem I dug up.  My junior year at Milligan was a very interesting year.  I was living in MSA with three other girls.  There were high points and low points, but my Junior year overall was a good year with lots of time with friends and lots of fun memories.
move in 2011In 2011 Adam and I moved in as newlyweds!  It was another new experience with move in day.  It was fun to set up our first apartment together and to decorate and figure out where everything was going to go.  Adam got a little too interested in our immersion blender and we had a trip to the emergency room, but all ended well except that I did a lot of the unpacking myself. Our senior year at Milligan was a great experience.  It was a great last year at Milligan.
move in 2012Move in day 2012 brought another new experience.  We moved across the street into the Emmanuel Village where Adam would be starting seminary.  We had some awesome friends help us move and we were again able to organize and decorate together and create a comfortable home.

Move in day 2013–We get to stay put!  This will be the longest we have lived in one place together.  The Emmanuel Village really feels like our first home because we get to stay for more than a year 🙂  We have already done some moving this year though.  We helped our best friends move and we helped my sister move in.

I hope that all the students have a great move in day today.  It can be a really fun time.  I know that it always was for me!

One response to “Move In Day

  1. hallie says:

    aw! I love that picture from jr year!

Leave a Reply

