My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Transition to Delight

on August 16, 2013

I have been doing a Bible Study recently with some lovely ladies.  The Bible Study is called “Duty or Delight.” It is all about changing our relationship with God from one of duty to delight.  I have found the need for this change most evident in reading my Bible.

For so many years I have felt that reading the Bible was just something that I had to do in order to be a Christian.  In my mind, Christians read their Bible every day.  I would feel like a bad Christian if I did not read my Bible every day, and still do.

This study has shown my that God doesn’t want me to read the Bible (or pray or anything) just because I feel like I have to, but because I want to, because it brings me joy, because I delight in it.  But how do you make that switch?  How do you find delight in reading the Bible when for so long it has been a duty that causes you to feel guilty if you don’t do it.

I am personally struggling to make this transition in my own life.  I’m trying to figure out how to delight in reading the Bible.  Honestly, I am not sure when the last time was that I read the Bible simply because I delight in doing so.  I feel like I have always read the Bible because I had to.  So how do I turn the switch in my mind?

Has anyone else struggled with this?   Do you have any helpful hints?

Leave a Reply

