My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

A Helpful How-To, from Me to You

on August 10, 2013

How-To Choose a Movie to Watch

This is a process that I go through quite often.  And I thought now would be a good time to share with you.

IMG_1985
Instead of staring helplessly at your stack of movies, wondering which one to spend your saturday night watching, now you can face it with a plan.

Step 1-Try to figure out if you are in the mood for a specific genre.  My movies are organized by genre to help you narrow it down.  If I know I’m in the mood for a romantic comedy I don’t have to waste my time going over the action titles, I can jump right to the romantic comedy section of my shelves.  So this is always the first question I ask myself.  If you are not in the mood for a specific genre, which was my problem tonight, then move on the the next step.

Step 2-Identify any movie that you feel like watching and pull them off the shelf.  Maybe longer if I am particularly indecisive.  Tonight I left myself with 10 movies to choose from.
IMG_1987As you can see I had a mix of genres.

Step 3- Quickly eliminate half of the movies.  One way I like to do this step is to try to eliminate multiples of a genre.  As you can see, I have three “chick flicks,” so I narrowed those down to one.  I also have four action films which I also narrowed down to one.  I was left with 5 movies to choose from, all from different genres.
IMG_1988
Step 4-Sit there contemplating what you really want to watch and make eliminations from there.
IMG_1989I found myself left with three movies that I could not choose between, so I put them in the order that I wanted to watch them and I will watch as many as I can before I go to bed tonight.
Here is the final order I settled on.  We’ll see how far the order I make it tonight.
IMG_1990

This process can sometimes take me 30 minutes, but once I choose a movie I don’t second guess myself.  I have found this to be a good method and I hope you do as well.  Here’s to a great Saturday night movie night!

 

Leave a Reply

