My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

My Passion

on July 17, 2013

When I first decided that this would be a good topic for me to blog about during July, I thought it would be really simple and easy.  But as I actually sit down to write it, I find that it is actually really hard.

What is passion anyway?
Passion is an intense emotion compelling feeling, enthusiasm, or desire for something.

If I go by this definition then I am passionate about a lot of things.  To name a few: movies, reading, mashed potatoes, pizza, games… The list could go on forever.

More recently though I have been feeling apathetic toward my passions.  I know that doesn’t seem right, but it’s true.  Everything I thought I was passionate about, I realize more and more that I am not.

I find that many times people are defined by their passions, because their passions often translate into what they are good at.

I read a lot, sure, but is it a passion?  I don’t know.

When I began to think about this post I thought I knew exactly what I was passionate about, and now I’m not so sure.  To be honest, I’m not even sure if I know my own passion anymore.

Has anyone else ever had this problem?  Thinking about my passions just seems to make me more confused.

One response to “My Passion

  1. shubh says:

    I guess it happens. In the humdrum of life, people in general do tend to loose interest in what they once felt enthusiastic about. Happens with me too. What I’ve felt is that constantly changing time, society and needs play an important role in that. And from my experiences(however little they maybe!) if you ever ask a person there passions, be rest assured that after a year or two a new desire would already have been implanted!

Leave a Reply

