My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Exercising

on July 2, 2013

walkI hate to exercise.  Well, actually, I hate to know that I am exercising.

If I a running around throwing Frisbee or playing basketball then I love exercising because I do not realize that I am doing it.  But actually setting out and making a point to exercising..yuck.

I have realized that I need to be actually exercising, so I read a book about walking and how to live an active lifestyle.  The first step is to figure out how many steps you walk each day.  According to the book, anything less than 5,000 steps a day is a “sedentary lifestyle”.  So all of last week I wore a pedometer.  I was surprised at what I found.  Two days of the week I barely made it over 4,000 steps.  Two days I barely made it over 5,000.  And only one day did I make it over 10,000 steps.  The book says to aim to take 10,000 steps a day because that means you have an active lifestyle and it is more like you are exercising throughout the day.  Well, let me tell you, that one day that I took over 10,000 steps absolutely wore me out!

Step two in the book, which I am working on this week, is to take 10,000 steps every day this week.  The book gives some helpful suggestions on how to do this.  For example:
–park in the farthest parking spot away from where you are going
–every hour walk the perimeter of your office building
–if you are able to, walk to do your errands
–take a walk after dinner (this will also help you stop munching in the evening)
–walk while you talk on the phone

Today is my first day trying to take 10,000 steps (I took Sunday and Monday off because I was worn out from my 10,000 step Saturday).  So we will have to see if I can do it!

One response to “Exercising

  1. Ron Eversole says:

    You should understand why I love to play pickleball – it is your “exercising without realizing it”. It does keep me active. Stay with it – I know it is good for you!

Leave a Reply

