My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

i did the coolest thing ever!

on June 17, 2013

i did the coolest thing ever this weekend!  want to see?

here’s how it started:
IMG_17311 vinyl tablecloth, paintbrush, scissors, masking tape, chalboard paint.  These things are going to be an awesome table runner!
IMG_1732
first thing I did was tape out my table runner, which you can see in the above picture.
Next, I started painting on the tablecloth with the chalkboard paint.
IMG_1733 IMG_1734I painted over the masking tape and did three coats.  Once it was dry, I cut around the edge of the masking tape.
IMG_1735And then I peeled off the tape.
IMG_1736A little of the paint got under the tape, but because of the big pattern it’s not very noticeable
IMG_1737Then, you are supposed to condition the paint by rubbing a piece of chalk over it and then erasing it.  Here is the completed table runner.  I am so thrilled with how it turned out!
IMG_1738 IMG_1739 IMG_1740Yay!

My next great idea:  painting the top of my coffee table with chalkboard paint so we can keep score on the table when playing games!  Wouldn’t that be awesome!

Leave a Reply

