My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Missing the Milestones

on May 8, 2013

For years and years and years while I was in school it seems like there was always a milestone to look forward to, and you knew when it was going to happen.  You know when you are going to move on from every year in school.   Milestones are important and it helps you see where you’ve come from and gone.

grad hsGraduation from High School.  I thought I knew exactly what I wanted.  I was young and tan and ready to start college.
fr at auThis is me, my first week of my freshman year at Anderson University.  Do I look different?  My freshman year of college was a big one for me.  I made all new, amazing, friends.  Did all kinds of things I had never done before, played every intermural, dyed my hair, pierced my nose, stayed out way too late, and loved every minute of it.  And still miss it sometimes, but it just got better from there.
so at milliganMy sophomore year, I transferred to Milligan College.  While Adam will tell you it is because we started dating and I transferred for him, that is really not the case.  It was really a God thing.  I decided I was transferring two weeks before school started, and everything worked out, which is how I knew it was a God thing.  Gosh, we look so young here!
jr at milligan (engaged)We came back to our junior year at college engaged.  It was a very fun, yet stressful year at school.  With being engaged, there were a whole lot more milestones to look forward to like showers, dress shopping, registering, planning, and tons of other things.  There was a lot to look forward to.

married

And then we got married! And went on our honeymoon!
honeymoon

And then we came back to campus to finish up our senior year.  Let’s compare, shall we:

Freshman vs. Senior.  Big difference?

And then we graduated and moved across the street to the Emmanuel Village.
graduation
And now what?
There are no actually set date milestones to look forward to, except birthdays and anniversaries and we are a while away from any big ones.  Let me just say, my life now, without set milestones, is weird.  And hard.  It is hard to just keep going without a milestone to focus on getting to.  It makes it harder for me to see where I am going.  I am happy with where we are and am trying to be content and not wish it away, but I want to know where we are going and when we are going to get there!

Any of you post-school people feel like this?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Missing the Milestones

  1. Ron Eversole says:

    Welcome to the ADULT world. And you thought we were having all the fun. It does look different from this side, doesn’t it? I assure you it is better . . . different, but better.

  2. Sharon Neeley says:

    You will learn to appreciate the “small” stuff and recognize those as significant moments. Milestones will return soon enough – your first home purchase, a new car, a new job, children and then they bring all of those Milestones you remember back.
    Responding to your comment on knowing it was a “God Thing” because it all worked out. I have found that God works in all circumstances….even those that may be challenging or difficult. Putting our trust in Him even when it doesn’t seem to all be perfect or as we had hoped and planned is what develops true faith and trust in God. We can’t put God in a box and expect Him to work in the same way all the time.

Leave a Reply

