My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

A Day Full of Learning

on April 11, 2013

All of the conference details, the ones you care about, and the ones you don’t—Part 3
Friday

Friday morning I attended the RCC annual business meeting breakfast.  It was interesting to see how everything worked and how they conduct their business meeting.  After breakfast, there was another plenary called “Communicating Faith in a Social Media Age.”  I really enjoyed this plenary.  We sat in small groups and we would discuss after each presenter spoke.  It was really good to dialogue with different faiths, people in different jobs, and to learn how to better communicate what we believe in a world of 140 letters.  My group was a group of young women and after the plenary, they invited me to go to lunch with them.  We went to the Indianapolis Colts Sports Bar.  Over my lunch of cooked veggies, I found out that they all worked in some form or fashion with the Methodist church.  It was strange for me to have to explain my denomination.  I’ve never had to explain it to someone who didn’t have any idea what it was.  So that was definitely a stretching moment for me.  I really enjoyed getting to know them better and dialoging about their jobs in communications.

After lunch, there were four tours we got to choose some.  Tour number 1 was a trip to the University of Indianapolis Radio station, tour number 2 was to the Indianapolis Speedway to meet and talk to the IndyCar Ministry, tour number 3 was to Exact Target, a social media marketing company, and tour number 4 was to the Islamic Society of North America’s national center in Indy.  At first I thought I wanted to go to the IndyCar Ministry tour, but I decided to go to Exact Target instead and I am very glad that I did.  I learned a lot about the company.  We toured their buildings, and their Director of Social Media Marketing spoke with us.  I learned a lot from him and I even won a mug. Yes!

After the tours, I signed up to go to an additional tour, more like field trip, to the Indianapolis Hebrew Congregation.  We got to go to their Friday evening Shabbat service.  It was very education and interesting.  All the songs were in Hebrew.  I really enjoyed going to their service.

Once we got back, we went to a late dinner at Scotty’s Brewery.  It was a sports bar downtown.  I got some broccoli and mac and cheese and it was delicious!  I wanted seconds of both.  I went with the other three scholarship winners, and it was really fun to hang out together.

Leave a Reply

