My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

I Google Words I Don’t Know/Who Needs A Dictionary?

on April 10, 2013

All of the conference details, the ones you care about, and the ones you don’t—Part 2
Thursday

Thursday morning we woke up, got registered for the convention and attended the Orientation.  This was basically a time for everyone who was attending their first RCC Convention.  There was an introduction to the council, what they do, and what to expect with the convention.  There were 15 people there who had never been to a convention before.  After the orientation, we went to lunch at a pizza place just around the corner from our hotel: Enzos.  It is a small, no place to eat your food, pizza place.  You just walked down the line, picked your pizza, your breadsticks, your drink, then they cooked it right then so it was super-hot and yummy when you got it.  I enjoyed a pepperoni pizza, two breadsticks, and cheese sauce.  Talk about tasty!  And super cheap! Gotta love that.

After lunch we went back to the hotel for the opening Plenary.

                Side note:  when I first saw the word “plenary,” I was like, what the heck does that mean?  So I Googled it.  (Gotta love Google).  “including all who have a right to attend <a plenary session of an assembly>”  So it is basically a fancy word for a gathering.  Who knew?  End side note.

The opening plenary was titled “Faith-based Peacebuilding in the Social Media Age.”  This was a very interesting panel discussion about how to build peace among faith groups (I was a little disappointed that they didn’t discuss the social media aspect very much).  There were three people on the panel: an Arab-Christian from Jordan, a Muslim, and a Jew.  During the plenary, the three of them talked about the conflict between their faith-groups and the ways that they could seek peace.  It was very interesting.  It was good to hear from individuals in each of these groups rather than from the people in the news for a change.  I have never really been involved in these kind of dialogues before, and I found it very educational for me.

After the plenary, there was a choice of workshops to attend.  I attended a workshop entitled “Real-Time Coverage on Social Media.” And I learned tons!  First, the presenter introduced the various social media and other tools to use them, and then she instructed on how to use them to cover a live event.  I have all kinds of new tools to use now and I am super excited about it!

In the evening was the De-Rose Hinkhouse awards, which are awards given to members of the RCC for excellence in communication.  Members can submit their work from the year in several categories of medium, and they are judged by a third party source.  It was a very inspirational awards banquet to see what these professionals have done in religious communications.  And for dinner at the banquet I had pasta and vegetables.  It was yummy.

And that night, I slept soundly with no sounds of loose wheels running through my head.

Leave a Reply

