My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Real People. Real Life.

on April 6, 2013

I read an amazing article today during my free time, that my awesome friend Lauren posted on her Facebook.

The article was written by Shauna Niequist for RELEVANT Magazine.  It is titled Stop Instagramming Your Perfect Life.  You can find the article here.  I highly recommend you reading it!

The thesis of the article is essentially that we do not put our real lives out on social media.  We put the real life that we want to have.  Niequist states that, “My life looks better on the Internet than it does in real life.”  While I try to be very honest in what I write, I know that this is probably true for me as well.

So, here is some of my real life:

  • I am currently breaking out like crazy!
  • I have been having some trouble eating because of my anxiety.
  • My house is only clean if we are having people over.
  • Until this week I had not worn makeup since Thanksgiving! (Yikes)
  • My car is always a mess and full of junk and trash.

Phew.  That’s a load off.  Now you know for a fact, that I am not perfect!  But you probably knew that already.

One thing that I really loved that Niequist said is this:

Community happens when we hear each other’s actual voices, when we enter one another’s actual homes, with actual messes, around actual tables telling stories that ramble on beyond 140 pithy characters.

I love this!  We can’t let social media be our only communication, our only connection.

I am going to challenge myself with the call to action in this article, and I hope you will too.

“Let’s choose community.  Let’s stop comparing.  Let’s start connecting.”

Thanks for reading!  I would love to hear your thoughts on this article as well!

Leave a Reply

