My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Trying to be content

on March 19, 2013

If you have been keeping up with my blog, then you know that I am trying to be more content and happy with where I am at life.  I am really trying, but it feels like it gets harder and harder.

This thought entered my head the other day, and I have been struggling with it.  Can you be content while still looking forward to the future?  I enjoy dreaming about the future.  I know that dreaming about it too much will make me not content, but is a little bit of dreaming a problem?

Lately I have been dreaming about having children and buying a house, to name a couple.  These are two of my favorite things to dream about, so does that mean that I’m not being content?

It seems hard to keep my mind in the hear and now.  This idea popped into my head: maybe growing up has conditioned me to look forward and dream of what is to come instead of being happy with where I am.

When I was little it seems like everything was looking forward.  One day, I’ll be in 4th grade.  One day, I’ll get to go to middle school, I’ll get to drive, I’ll get to go to prom, I’ll get to go to college, I’ll get a boyfriend, we’ll get engaged, we’ll get married.  So how do you balance being excited about what is to come and being content with where you are now?  Is there a balance?

Do you have problems living in the “now”?

I am really trying to intentionally be here, now.  Lately, whenever I catch myself daydreaming about the future I have been asking myself, “Wait, what can you do now? Here?”  Usually I don’t have an answer, but maybe the more times I ask myself I’ll be able to give myself better answers.

I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts on contentment and dreaming.  I don’t want to wish away my “married without children” years, but I don’t want them to last forever either.

No matter how hard I try to be content, I’m not sure that I’ll ever get here:
Contentment

6 responses to “Trying to be content

  1. Lauren says:

    Lauren, this is a real struggle for me, too. I think it’s natural to get excited about things to come, but, like you said, it’s important not to waste our whole lives pining for what’s next. I think asking yourself that question in the moment is great-I need to do that more, too. Thanks for sharing this!

    • At first I thought you said “pinning” instead of “pining” and then I thought, “Hm, maybe pinning is part of the problem.” It’s interesting, and probably true to think that I might actually be “pinning” my life away. Most of my boards on Pinterest are on future, dreaming, things, so maybe that’s part of my problem.

  2. Ha! It’s like the saying “whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!” And you think “I don’t want to be any stronger, I’m as strong as I want to be!” I don’t think being content means to stop dreaming, just not to forget to appreciate what you have. Children can bring a lot of happiness, but they bring a lot of responsibilities and are a definite vacuum to your freedom and money. So before the kids come enjoy the freedom. Houses are nice but if something isn’t working in the apartment you can just call the management to have it fixed. You don’t have to worry when the grass needs mowing or the roof needs replacing. The grass may look greener on the other side of the fence but the view is pretty good from this side of the fence!

  3. Hi, I think most people are the same! We have our house and a daughter plus another due in 5 weeks but I’m still always planning ahead..our house needs lots of work doing on it so it frustrates me that it isn’t how. I started to mentally think about 3 positives per week and write them down – this really helps focus n the good things And forget the stressful work days / hard bits. It helps me anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

