My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

My husband is my partner in crazy

on March 7, 2013

As I told you before, I am currently reading Julie and Julia, which if you do not know, is about Julie Powell cooking her way through Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking.  And I am really enjoying it.  Today while I was reading, I ran upon this paragraph that I would like to share with you.

Right before this paragraph, Julie is making a very delicate sauce for her mussels and is trying to add just the right amount of spices.  Her husband Eric is standing beside her while she cooks.

I was Tom Cruise hoving with a bead of sweat.  I was Harrison Ford in a battered fedora, weighing a bag full of sand in my hands—and Eric understood.  He was my partner.  It occurred to me, as I beat my rebellious sauce into submission, that my husband was doing more than just enduring this crazy thing I had gotten myself into, doing more than being supportive.  I realized this was his Project, too.  Eric wasn’t a cook, and like Isabel, he only care about Julia Child because I did.  And yet, he had become part of this thing.  There would be no Project without him, and he would not be the same without the Project.  I felt so married, all of a sudden, and so happy.

I really enjoyed this section because 1-of the movie references and 2-because her realization of marriage.

I know I have had this same realization of marriage many times.  Adam partners with me in many crazy things: crafting, scrapbooking, my movie lists, to name a few.  And while he is not as invested in them as I am, he shares in the good and the bad with me.  Adam is not just my partner in crime, but my partner in crazy!  He truly is my partner in life.

Yay for realizations of the amazing men in our lives!

Leave a Reply

