My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

it’s that time!

on March 6, 2013

Today’s story is about two sisters.  Can you guess who?oldestAmanda and I are three years apart and this picture shows our early relationship, and our relationship for most of our lives so far.  Smiling, and yet she is trying to strangle me.

I would say that for quite a long time Amanda and I had a love-hate relationship, but most of the time it felt like hate.

We would pick on each other, get on each other’s nerves, and so on.  Some of you would think this was just normal sister stuff, but I would say that sometimes it seemed more than that.

Amanda will tell you, like she did in her toast at my wedding, that one time I threw a ball of foil at her, which hit her in the eye, and made her miss a very important concert.  I would tell you that she was a wimp and overreacted.

I would tell you that Amanda always hung around with my friends and bugged us.  She would tell you that my friends liked hanging out with her too.  This may be true, but I’ve never understood it.

We have had to write the “tame your tongue” chapter many times because of how we talked to each other.  I will be honest, we were pretty mean to each other.  Pretty terrible actually.  But in the end we would hug, even if we were made to, and laugh it off.

Let me tell you one story that I love to tell about me and Amanda.  This one time in high school, my mom would park halfway between the high school and where she worked so that we could walk to the car and get home.  This one day after school, Amanda and I were walking to the car, and she gave me a shove, trying to push me off the sidewalk.  I did not like this, so with my right hand, I tried to backhand her in the arm.  She put up her arm to block it, which happened to have her watch on it.  My knuckles shattered the watch’s glass face and I started bleeding.  We kept walking to the car and the bleeding wasn’t stopping.  I think Amanda kindly gave me a leaf to stop the bleeding.  And she also called mom and said, “LAUREN IS BLEEDING PROFUSELY!!”  Well, that wasn’t entirely true.  It was more dripping, and mom just about had a heart attack.  We picked mom up on the way to the doctor and the doctor said it was not bad enough for stitches, but she did have to glue me up and I had to wear a splint.  That is probably the most dramatic, and funny of our fights, where there was actually blood shed.

Since then, the 3 years that I was away for college helped our relationships grow.

middle

When she came to Milligan for her freshman year of college, I was a senior.  It was during this time that an actual friendship began to grow between us, which I would say we had never had before.

older

She was the maid of honor at my wedding, and it was great to have her next to me.

wedding

When Amanda went home for the summer I really missed her.  She has become one of my best friends.  I don’t know what I will do when she goes away for this summer.

newest

While I used to find her annoying and aggravating, now I enjoy spending time with her and talking to her.  She is great.  I love you sister!

Check out my pinterest board in her honor:  http://pinterest.com/laurentomlinson/pinned-for-my-sister/

I love awesome sibling stories.  Do you all have any to share?

Leave a Reply

