My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Sometimes it is hard to read

on March 5, 2013

Why is it that I can fly through a book but when it comes to reading the Bible I find it hard to read.  I even bought the new “The Story” Bible because I thought it would encourage me to read it.  Nope.  I’ve hardly touched it.  One of my goals for the year has been to read my Bible every day and to read through the whole Bible this year.  I realized while at church on Sunday that I have not read my Bible for three weeks now and I hardly even noticed!

I am very disturbed by this revelation.  Fiction books I can read through very quickly, so why do I find it so hard to sit down and read a few chapters of my Bible a day.

I realized that what changed for me in the past three weeks is that I have been sleeping on the couch and not in my bed.  Usually I would read my Bible before bed, so I would go upstairs and lay in bed while I read.  Now, I do not have a reason to get off the couch because that is where I am staying for the evening.  It is not as easy now to tear myself away from the television or whatever I am doing downstairs.

I am really going to try to get back on the ball this week and set quiet time aside well before bedtime so I do not forget to read my Bible.

Do you have any other suggestions for how I can make it easier to read my Bible?

Leave a Reply

