My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Inspiration

on March 2, 2013

Julie&Julia_(Book)I am currently reading “Julie and Julia.”  Some of you might remember seeing the movie a few years ago with Amy Adams and Meryl Streep.  That movie and my newfound love of cooking inspired me to read the book.  I am only a few chapters in but I really love it!  It is such a fun story to read.  If someone hadn’t already done it, I would be tempted to do this exact same thing!  Maybe one day I will cook my way through a cookbook.  However, I can’t help but think of the problems that could arise by my doing this.

1-not being able to cook all the recipes because of food allergies

2-spending hours hunting for strange ingredients

3-having the money to buy ingredients for all of the homemade meals

4-cooking something I don’t like

We’ll see if it ever happens, but I am definitely inspired to do something like this.  I love trying out new recipes.  Maybe one month I will try out a “new recipe month.”  Well, on the other hand, with our food budget, it might have to be “new recipe week.”

I’m curious, have you ever read a book that inspired you to do something?

One response to “Inspiration

  1. #3 shouldn’t pose as much of a problem as you might think. As long as you aren’t buying very exotic and unique ingredients, it’s much cheaper to make homemade meals than eat out. If you have to buy something you don’t normally eat a lot of, plan several meals that feature that ingredient ahead of time, to eat in the following week or two. I know it works, because it has worked for me as a college student with limited money, limited space, and even limited kitchen tools. 🙂

Leave a Reply

