My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

What to hope for

on February 19, 2013

I’m sure that you all are tired of my groaning and complaining about my shoulder, so here is the good news.

I took the first step this morning in finding out what is going on. Early this morning I had an MRI done.  Luckily, I am not a claustrophobic person, but the MRI was almost enough to make me become a claustrophobic person.  For those of you who do not know what I am talking about, here is a visual aid:

mriNow, this may not look too bad to you, and it didn’t to me either.  I was facing the other way, so I had my head toward the machine, so I could see behind me.  What you can’t really tell from this picture is how small it truly is.  As you go inside, the tube gets smaller.  My elbow hit the side as I went in and if I tilted my head just right my nose would have touched the top.  So yeah, it’s a pretty tight fit.  Another thing that I did not realize about an MRI was that it isn’t like an x-ray or a CT Scan.  It’s not a quick “click” or “whirrr” and then you’re done, no.  I was in the tube for about 15 minutes.  And all the time you are in it, it sounds like the machine is malfunctioning.  It is really loud (the tech gave me earplugs but I don’t think they helped) and rather unsettling.  But, needless to say, I made it through and I am not emotionally traumatized.

The next step for me is seeing the doctor on Thursday.  Now, since Adam and I had to pay $300 up-front for this MRI, I am a little torn with what to hope for from the doctor.  I almost want him to give me bad news, because then I won’t feel like I wasted the money for the MRI if it is not actually that bad.  Adam said that it won’t be a waste of money even if it’s better news because then we still know what it is and hopefully how to fix it.  I see his point, but I’m not sure I’m completely sold on what I should hope for.

Leave a Reply

