My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Unexpected Truths

on February 15, 2013

A few months ago, I watched The Green Mile for the first time.  I was home alone, and by the end of it I was bawling like a baby.  Watching the movie, I had the most personal realization of Christ and his sacrifice that I have ever had.  At the time, I wrote a blog post about it.

Because I had been so moved by the movie, I wanted the read the book because I assumed it would be much better than the movie and tell more of the story.  I just finished the book yesterday.  It was a very good story, but I was not moved to tears this time.  This could be that I already knew what was going to happen.  Anyways, the movie turned out to be very true to the book.  There are very few scenes from the book that did not make it into the movie.

It was a very good book, but this is another case of my liking a movie more than a book.  One quote from the book did strike a chord with me and I wanted to share it with you.  I’m going to try and do this without ruining the story.

“He appeared to be limping just a bit on his left rear leg, and that was what struck me the hardest—it was, I suppose, what made it real.  That little limp.”

The characters have just experienced a miracle, something that was dead is now alive.  Reading this section, it reminded me of Christ and his scars.  Surely God could have given Christ a perfect body when he was risen from the dead, but he didn’t.  Jesus was left with scars.  And thinking of that through the lens of the above quote, really stood out to me.  Jesus’ scars make it easier to believe that it actually happened.  That he actually died.

I have found that God will reveal truths to you when you least expect it, and I was confronted with many truths from The Green Mile.

Leave a Reply

