My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Only One Fight

on February 13, 2013

Today’s storytime is about a friend, and a fight.  I have a friend that I have known almost my entire life.  I don’t remember the details of how old we were when we first became friends; I don’t even have a memory of when we first met.  In my mind it’s almost like it has always been.  Her name is Janna and she has been an important part of my life for as long as I can remember.  We didn’t go to the same school, and we weren’t neighbors.  We met each other at church.  I think we were in elementary school when we met, and we stayed friends through middle school, my moving away, high school, and both of us going to college.  During all this time, we have only had one major fight.  And this I remember clearly.

Throughout our friendship there have been many sleepovers.  One weekend when we were young, probably elementary school age, Janna got to stay at my house for several nights.  It was the last day, and my mother says that we were finally getting sick of each other.  She took us around to some garage sales, probably because she didn’t know what else to do with us.

At one garage sale, I stumbled upon a purple tuft of hair with eyes and a sign that said, “Hang in There.”  I was in love with what I would later name “Mr. Fuzzy.”  I ran up to my mom to show her and Janna said she also liked it and would like to get it.  My mom decided that since Janna was the guest she got to buy it.  Well I thought this was the meanest, most unfair thing that she could have done.  I was so mad.  I don’t know how long I was mad for, but probably a few days.  But I soon got over it.

Several years went by and in seventh grade I found out that my dad had gotten a new job and we were moving four hours away!  I was devastated.  All of my friends, my home, my church, and Janna were in Crown Point, Indiana.  Our group of friends had a going away get together at some point before we moved and at this party Janna handed me a gift.  What should I find wrapped up inside?  None other than Mr. Fuzzy!  I probably cried or something, I don’t remember.  So, Mr. Fuzzy moved with me to Illinois.

Janna and I continued to write letters, make phone calls, and visit each other over the years.  A year and a half ago last week she stood with me as I got married!  And at the rehearsal dinner the night before, I passed on a gift to her:
lauren and janna
And I know our friendship will be life-long because as Mr. Fuzzy says: We “hang in there!”

Leave a Reply

