My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Crafts–a win and a fail

on February 4, 2013

Weekend Craft Win
Okay, so it’s not a very epic win, and Adam corrected me on it, but I was pretty proud of it.
IMG_1486We had several unmatched socks laying around, and so this is now hanging in our laundry room.  And I happen to like it a lot.

Weekend Craft Fail
I have some doilies that my great-great grandmother crocheted and I think they are beautiful.  Here are a few of them:
IMG_1493  I just love how they look.  I have been inspired by her to make some of my own and to mix some of mine with hers in some decorating.  Well, even though I know how to crochet, this was a totally different animal.  I worked on them all weekend.  I sometimes struggled with the patterns, but could usually figure out what was supposed to be going on.  Here are my doilies, that took my forever to make:
IMG_1495Yeah.  Embarrassing.  Yes, I admit it.  I fail at doilies.
Hopefully one of these days I’ll get over the shame and try again.  Maybe practice makes perfect.

3 responses to “Crafts–a win and a fail

  1. […] in my current book:  315 I have made: a sign for the laundry room and some doilies—check it out here I have worked on:  budgets and perfecting my doily skills Food made: single serve mac and cheese, […]

  2. […] I have made: I have practiced crocheting doilies, but they have not gotten much better since the last time. I have worked on: keeping the house clean in spite of being hurt and not feeling well Food made: […]

  3. […] Bad Our microwave is dying I found out I have a torn tendon in my shoulder–read about it here Sleeping on the couch for most of the month I only read three books Stress with money Got strep Adam was gone studying a lot Failed at doilies […]

Leave a Reply

