My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

A Grand Night for Singing

on February 1, 2013

215px-GrandNightForSingingLast night Adam and I attend the family and friends preview night at the Jonesborough Repertory Theatre for “A Grand Night for Singing.”  Our friend Tommy Parker invited us because he was in the band for the show.  The show is a musical revue showcasing the music of Richard Rodgers and the lyrics of Oscar Hammerstein II.

I have always loved Rodgers and Hammerstein movies.  I have been watching them for my whole life.  My mother is also an enthusiast, which is how I was introduced.

The revue includes songs from Allegro, Me and Juliet, State Fair, Pipe Dream, Flower Drum Song, Carousel, Oklahoma!, The King and I, South Pacific, Cinderella, and The Sound of Music.

I knew a lot of the songs even though I have not seen all of the above.  It was a great show and a wonderful cast of singers.  It put me in the mood for a Rodgers and Hammerstein marathon!

I highly recommend you go see this performance, even if you don’t know the music, you are sure to enjoy it!

The show will be Feb. 1-17. Performances will be Fridays at 7:30 p.m., Saturdays at 2 p.m. and 7:30 p.m., and Sundays at 2 p.m. For tickets visit http://www.jonesboroughtheatre.com/or call 423.753.1010.

One response to “A Grand Night for Singing

  1. Ron Eversole says:

    Even I know a lot of that music. I especially like South Pacific. But it’s a few too many miles to see the show.

Leave a Reply

