My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Don’t Forget Discipline

on January 30, 2013

dis·ci·pline

[dis-uh-plin] Show IPA noun, verb, dis·ci·plined, dis·ci·plin·ing.
noun

1. training to act in accordance with rules; drill: military discipline.
2. activity, exercise, or a regimen that develops or improves a skill; training: A daily stint at the typewriter is excellent discipline for a writer.
3. punishment inflicted by way of correction and training.
4. the rigor or training effect of experience, adversity, etc.: the harsh discipline of poverty.
5. behavior in accord with rules of conduct; behavior and order maintained by training and control: good discipline in an army.

How many of us try to practice discipline?  Now, I am not talking about disciplining your children, so let’s just disregard the third definition for what I am going to say today.

Galatians 5:22-23  But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, and self-control.  Against such things there is no law.

How many of us actually pay attention that that last fruit and say, “I’m going to work on being self-controlled or disciplined today.”  Not many of us probably.  And until this month, I had not either.

We have been talking about spiritual disciplines at church: reading the Bible, prayer, fasting, and so on.  When you practice spiritual disciplines you are training your spiritual behavior, you are working to make it stronger.  Because of these sermons, I have decided to discipline myself in reading my Bible and praying by doing this every day.

Adam and I are taking the Financial Peace University class because we need more discipline with our money.

Showing discipline in many areas or your life shows that you have self-control and that you are training yourself to be a certain way.  Because of all this talk of discipline I have decided to try and discipline myself in other areas of my life.  I am already working on spiritual and financial discipline, and I have added my own goals of showing discipline in my eating habits, in my exercising, writing every day, and in cleaning the house.  I want to train myself to be a certain way.   For me, it is important to learn these disciplines now so they will become habits for the rest of my life.

I have been thinking a lot about discipline and why I think it is important and these two verses really helped me:

Hebrews 12:11  For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.

Proverbs 13:4  The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, which the soul of the diligent is richly supported.

So, I encourage you to think about discipline in a way you perhaps haven’t before.  I have found it very freeing and I am excited to see what these next few months of discipline will bring.

Leave a Reply

