My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Perilous Potlucks

on January 28, 2013

For a person with food allergies, potlucks are death defying stunts.  And I had two potlucks in the past four days.  This weekend someone asked me, “How do you know what to eat at potlucks?”  Do you want the scary answer?  I guess.  I usually choose things that there is almost no way that you could sneak a nut into.  So at my first potluck I had macaroni and cheese, baked beans, and barbecued pork.  It would be awfully hard to mess those things up with nuts.  At the second one I had green beans, creamed corn, and chicken pot pie (no crust just filling).  Needless to say I don’t usually eat much at potlucks and here is one important rule I have for myself: Absolutely no desserts.  People can hide nuts in desserts better than anything I have ever seen.

Because of this, I always take the same thing to potlucks: dessert.  I do this so there is one sweet thing on the table that I absolutely know is safe.  This week I took these two potlucks as an opportunity to try something new (two Pinterest recipes I had been wanting to try).

My first new dessert was Strawberry Brownies.  This is really easy.  It’s a box of strawberry cake mix, 2 eggs and 1/3 cup of oil.  You mix this all together and then put it in a 9×13 pan.  Then it cooks at 350 for 14 minutes.  For the topping, you do a glaze, which is 1 cup of powdered sugar and 1 T of water or milk.  These brownies looked suspicious in the end, but they were pretty good.  You could easily do this with any kind of cake mix.  Hmm….funfetti brownies….

My second new dessert I was really excited about:  Jello Frosting.  I made some vanilla cupcakes the night before because this recipe is only good for about a day.  You can pick any flavor jello and it’s not just for color, it’s for the taste.  I chose raspberry for my first attempt (but watermelon would be awesome).  You mix a 3oz box of jello mix, 2/3 cup granulated sugar, 1 teaspoon of vanilla, 1 egg white, and ½ c of boiling water.  Then you mix it on high with a whisk attachment in a glass bowl (the recipe said this was important).  You mix on high for 5 minutes and these soft, beautiful peaks are supposed to form.

Problem 1:  whipping something super watery on high is a problem.  A problem which means there are bright red dots all of my kitchen and myself.  Note to self:  Watch for splatter.

Problem 2:  soft, beautiful peaks never formed.  I got a runny, soupy jello mess.

But, this mess tasted good.  I put the frosting on the cupcakes, and then it ran down the sides, but this frosting was pretty delicious.  The kids at the potluck loved them.  Here are some pictures of the runny goodness for you to enjoy.

IMG_1483 IMG_1484

Leave a Reply

