My Twentysomething Life

I Do, Make, Read, Watch, Eat…

Indoor Snowman

on January 19, 2013

Indoor Snowman

This is one of the crafts that I had seen on Pinterest (surprise, surprise) that I finally got to do.

Now, when I was looking at it on Pinterest, it didn’t have a tutorial with it, so I kinda had to make it up as I went.  On Pinterest it said, “just buy a $3 spindle at Lowe’s” and that ended up being the hardest parts.  Adam and I wandered around Lowe’s for a long time looking for a spindle.  I found many table legs and chair legs, but no spindle.  Finally, when I was about to give up hope, I found a spindle.  It ended up being $1 and some change.  It didn’t look exactly like the one online did, but I figured it would work.

So, I sat there staring at this wooden spindle in my living room for 2-3 weeks trying to figure out how to turn it into a snowman.  It wasn’t as fat and round as I had originally envisioned so I had to mull over its transformation for a while.  Finally, one night I figured it out and set to work.

I painted the spindle white, and then added black eyes, mouth, and buttons and an orange carrot nose.  I had some extra fabric around for the scarf and hat.  I nailed the fabric to the head and tied it at the top.  I am very happy with how my indoor snowman turned out.

Leave a Reply

